top of page

Spring Lace Coasters - Crochet Pattern

Spring Lace Coasters - Free Pattern

Celebrate spring with a nice cup of tea and these beautiful lacy table coasters to go perfectly underneath that antique china you've been dying to use. The pattern itself was inspired by a book I picked up at my local HPB called "Crochet With Color", written by an amazing Japanese Crochet/Knit artist named Kazuko Ryokai. The pattern I am posting today, however, is edited and revised to my own personal liking; a little bit smaller in size and a simliar, however, different technique than used in her book. In saying this, I think this book is DEFINITELY worth buying and is home to some of the most beautiful crochet patterns I have ever seen.

So here it is, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did:

Please be respectful and do not sell or publish this pattern in any way, especially as your own.

Supplies:

  • E (3.5 mm) hook

  • Yarn in 4 colors (three colors per coaster), I used Yarn Bee Soft Secret in; wine, lilac, ivory & honey

  • Scissors

  • Embroidery needle

Abbreviations:

  • sl st – slip stitch

  • ch – chain stitch

  • fsc – foundation single crochet

  • fphdc – front post half-double crochet, similar to the front post double crochet. Work a half double crochet as usual, but around the post of the previous row.

Let's Begin

Row 1: Using "honey", make a magic circle or ch 2 and sc 6 times in first ch, sl st in first sc, ch.3

Row 2: Don't turn, dc in first st of row 1, ch 3, 2 dc in next st, ch 3, 2 dc in next st, repeat until you reach beginning of row ( 16 dc), sl st in first dc of row.

Row 3: Dont turn, sl st in ch3-sp, ch 4, dc3tog in same sp, ch 4, dc3tog, ch 4, rep. until you reach beginning of row, slst in middle of first ch4-sp of row 3 (beginning row 4).

Row 4: Ch 4, sc in same sp, ch 5, sc in next ch 4-sp, ch 5, rep. around until you reach beginning of row, sl st in first ch of row.

My lovely cousin modeling her new Easter hat

Have a question? Ask me!

If you would like to purchase the finished product, you can do so here.

bottom of page